Invictus Games 2017

#WillToMove

Helping active military personnel and veterans regain their freedom of movement is an idea deeply rooted in Ottobock culture. Our company was founded in 1919 to help those wounded in WWI get back to everyday life. Since then, we’ve maintained close relationships with the military and goverment to research, develop and distribute advanced technology specifically suited to the needs of injured veterans.


As a proud supporter of the Invictus Games Toronto 2017, Ottobock looks forward to providing athletes with prosthetic and orthotic technical services for the third year since its 2014 inaugural event in London.

Ottobock offers a full line of industry-leading products that enable injured veterans live full and satisfying lives. Advances in prosthetic technology may be blurring the lines between man and machine, but true technological breakthroughs wouldn’t be possible without individuals who are constantly pushing the limits. Discover how the #WillToMove is inspiring active military personnel, veterans and medical device manufacturers to break through what is possible in the realm of biotech.


Meet a few Invictus 2017 Team Canada competitors:

Simon's story

Captain Simon Mailloux, of Quebec City, Quebec, lost his left leg after an improvised explosive device incident In November, 2007. He was redeployed to Afghanistan two years later, becoming the first Canadian amputee to deploy to a war zone as a combatant. A Team Canada co-captain, Mailloux will exhibit his #WillToMove in track and field, and sitting volleyball.

Mike's story

Master Corporal (Retired) Mike Trauner—who earned the Medal of Military Valour, the third-highest award for valour in the Canadian military, for an unrelated action, was targeted by two Taliban sitting under a nearby tree. The remotely detonated mortar and artillery shell resulted in severing his right leg below the knee, his left above the knee, shredding his left arm, and injuring his left hand extensively. A Pembroke, Ontario resident, Trauner is currently training in rowing, cycling, and wheelchair basketball as he prepares to show his #WillToMove during the 2017 Games.

Étienne’s story

Master Corporal (Retired) Étienne Aubé lost his leg and two fingers in 2009, after stepping on an improvised explosive device in Afghanistan. It took three years of rehabilitation before he could walk. Because he had such a long road to recovery, he is excited to be competing at Invictus, and is currently preparing to display his #WillToMove on Team Canada’s golf team.

Les Jeux Invictus 2017

#EngagementÀl’Action

Ottobock offre une gamme complète de produits orthopédiques techniques en tête de l’industrie, qui permettent aux vétérans de guerre blessés de vivre une vie pleine et gratifiante. Découvrez l’inspiration que #WillToMove apporte aux personnel militaire, vétérans et aux fabricants d’appareils médicaux, l<inspiration de percer les limites apparentes de ce qui est possible dans le monde de la biotechnologie.


Ottobock est fier d’être supporteur des jeux Invictus de Toronto 2017. Nous sommes très heureux de pouvoir offrir aux athlètes participants des services prothétiques et orthopédiques techniques pour la troisième année consécutive depuis les événements inauguraux à Londres en 2014.

Ottobock offre une gamme de produits complète, en tête de l’industrie; des produits qui permettent aux vétérans blessés de vivre une vie pleine et gratifiante. Les innovations de la technologie orthopédique semblent pouvoir effacer graduellement les définitions et différences entre humain et machines, cependant les avances technologiques réelles seraient impossibles sans ceux qui sont engagés à pousser sans cesse les limites de cette technologie. Découvrez l’inspiration que #WillToMove apporte aux personnel militaire, vétérans et fabricants d’appareils médicaux, l’inspiration de surmonter les limites apparentes de ce qui est possible dans le monde de la biotechnologie.


Voici quelques un des compétiteurs de l’équipe Canada aux jeux Invictus 2017:

Quelques mots sur Simon

Capitaine Simon Mailloux, de la ville de Québec au Québec, a perdu sa jambe gauche lors d’un incident impliquant un appareil explosif improvisé en novembre 2007. Il fut réaffecté en Afghanistan deux ans plus tard et devient le premier Canadien amputé à être déployé en zone de guerre en tant que combattant. Co-capitaine de l’équipe Canada, Mailloux démontrera certainement son #WillToMove dans le domaine d’athlétisme et volleyball adapté.

Quelques mots sur Mike

Caporal-chef Mike Trauner (retraité) un résident de Pembroke Ontario, a reçu la Médaille de Vaillance Militaire; le troisième plus haut honneur conféré par l’Armée Canadienne pour service militaire. Durant des événements sans conséquences, Caporal-chef Mike Trauner fut la cible de deux membres du Taliban cachés sous un arbre. Sa jambe droite fut coupée dessous le genou et sa jambe gauche au dessus du genou par une bombe de mortier détonnée à distance et une douille d’artillerie. Cette explosion déchira aussi son bras gauche et causa des blessures graves à sa main gauche. Trauner poursuit maintenant son entrainement physique dans le sport d’aviron, cyclisme et basketball en fauteuil roulant pour se préparer à démontrer son #WillToMove au cours des jeux Invictus 2017.

Quelques mots sur Étienne

Caporal-chef Étienne Aubé (retraité) a perdu sa jambe et deux doigts en 2009, en Afghanistan en posant son pied sur un appareil explosif improvisé. Il lui a fallu trois ans de réhabilitation pour pouvoir marcher à nouveau. Après une période de réhabilitation si longue, Étienne est très heureux d’entrer en compétition aux jeux Invictus et se prépare présentement à démontrer son #WillToMove avec l’équipe de golf du Canada.