Drop foot

Drop foot, also called foot drop, describes the inability to raise the front of the foot due to weakness or paralysis of the muscles that lift the foot. As a result, individuals with foot drop drag their toes along the ground or raise their thighs higher than usual when walking to make sure that the foot does not drag across the floor (steppage gait). Foot drop typically affects one foot although it is possible for both feet to be affected.


Foot drop is a symptom of an underlying neurological, muscular, or anatomical condition. It is typically associated with the following disorders:

  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Stroke
  • Cerebral palsy
  • Poliomyelitis (polio)
  • Some forms of spinal muscular atrophy
  • Some forms of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease)
  • Spinal stenosis
  • Charcot-Marie-Tooth disease
  • Acquired peripheral neuropathy
  • Muscular dystrophy
  • Myositis

Foot drop can also be caused by local compression or damage to the peroneal nerve as it passes across the fibular bone below the knee.


Treatment for foot drop depends on the specific cause. The most common treatment is to support the foot with a lightweight ankle-foot orthosis (AFO). Exercise therapy to strengthen the muscles and maintain joint motion also helps to improve gait. Devices that electrically stimulate the peroneal nerve while walking are appropriate for a small number of individuals with foot drop.

Orthotic management

The products below are designed to help improve the mobility of individuals with drop foot. Whether a product is suitable for you and whether you are capable of exploiting its full functionality depends on many different factors. Your physical condition, fitness, and a detailed medical examination are all factors. Your doctor or orthotist will decide which product would be the most suitable for your condition. We are happy to support you.

Related products

Pied tombant

Le pied tombant décrit l’incapacité à soulever le devant du pied en raison d’une faiblesse ou d’une paralysie des muscles qui relèvent le pied. Par conséquent, les personnes atteintes du pied tombant traînent les orteils sur le sol ou soulèvent la cuisse plus haut que d’habitude en marchant pour s’assurer que le pied ne traîne pas au sol (steppage). Le pied tombant touche généralement un seul pied, bien qu’il est possible que les deux pieds soient touchés.


Causes

Le pied tombant est un symptôme de trouble neurologique, musculaire ou anatomique sous-jacent. Il est généralement associé aux troubles suivants :

  • Sclérose en plaques
  • Accident vasculaire cérébral
  • Paralysie cérébrale
  • Poliomyélite (polio)
  • Certaines formes d’amyotrophie spinale
  • Certaines formes de sclérose latérale amyotrophique (maladie de Lou Gehrig)
  • Sténose du canal rachidien
  • Maladie de Charcot-Marie-Tooth
  • Neuropathie périphérique acquise
  • Dystrophie musculaire
  • Myosite

Le pied tombant peut aussi être causé par une compression locale ou des dommages au nerf péronier qui passe à travers le péroné, sous le genou.

Traitement

Le traitement du pied tombant dépend de l’origine du problème. Le traitement le plus courant consiste à soutenir le pied avec une orthèse pédi-jambière légère. Un programme d’exercices visant à renforcer les muscles et à préserver le mouvement dans l’articulation facilite également la démarche. Un dispositif qui stimule électriquement le nerf péronier lors de la marche convient aussi à un nombre limité de personnes atteintes du pied tombant.


Gestion des orthèses

Les produits ci-dessous sont conçus pour améliorer la mobilité des personnes atteintes du pied tombant. L’adéquation d’un produit à votre situation et votre capacité à exploiter au mieux ses fonctions dépendent de nombreux facteurs différents. Votre condition physique, votre forme physique et un examen médical détaillé sont tous des facteurs. Votre médecin ou l’orthésiste choisira le produit qui convient le mieux à votre état. Nous sommes ravis de pouvoir vous aider.


Produits connexes